In addition, employers in New Jersey with at least 30 employees worldwide are covered under the NJ Family Leave Act (NJFLA). Under NJFLA, employers must provide 12 weeks of job-protected family leave to employees so they can care for or bond with a child.How do I apply for Family Leave Insurance in New Jersey?
New Jersey workers are encouraged to apply. In order to have a valid claim for Family Leave Insurance, you need to have paid into the program through your employment and meet minimum gross earnings requirements. Family Leave Insurance is available to most New Jersey workers.What are the labor laws in New Jersey?
New Jersey has among the most comprehensive Temporary Disability, Family Leave Insurance, and Earned Sick Leave laws in the country, which cover all types of workers – full-time, part-time, temporary and seasonal. Federal laws that expanded Unemployment Insurance benefits to more workers expired September 4, 2021.What happens if I take njfla leave due to covid-19?
This means if you already took 12 weeks of federal paid sick and childcare leave to care for your child due to a COVID-19 school closure even if you are covered for job protection under the NJFLA, you have already exhausted NJFLA leave and your job may not be protected.