First Offense DUI Penalties: In New Jersey, a DUI is your "first offense" if you have not been arrested for an alcohol-related driving offense in the past 10 years. If you are arrested for a first offense DUI in New Jersey, you may face all the following consequences: $250 to $400 fine. Up to 30 days in jail.How do you transfer license in NJ?
If you have an out-of-state driver's license, you must transfer it for a NJ driver's license within 60 days of moving to the state. You will need to visit your local NJ MVC office in person and surrender your previous driver's license. You will not need to take the knowledge and road test.How do you obtain drivers license in NJ?
New Jersey Examination Permit. The first step to getting your new New Jersey driver's license is to obtain your examination permit. To apply, visit your local New Jersey MVC office and: Pass a written permit test and vision screening.What is the New Jersey (NJ) surcharge?
New Jersey Surcharge is the program that New Jersey uses of charging an additional fee through the Department of Motor Vehicles that is generally two to three times the amount of a traffic violation in addition to the original ticket in order to bring in extra money for the state budget. The program was originally created to help subsidize state bonds for drivers who could not afford insurance but the revenue now mostly goes to the state's discretionary general fund.